Start with the bill you can actually control

A small VM can be a sensible home for a low-traffic service, development environment or scheduled worker. But “under $10” is a base-compute filter, not an all-in hosting promise. A cheap instance with separately billed disk and public IP can be a worse fit for a hard budget than a more expensive instance with the resources you need included.

This shortlist requires a positive published native USD monthly amount strictly below $10. It includes vendor monthly prices or caps and explicitly labeled 730-hour estimates. It excludes $10 exactly, free trials, credits, Spot offers, term commitments, unavailable plans and missing prices. Each eligible provider gets one lowest-monthly-price example, so repeated regions cannot overwhelm the list.

EUR and GBP offers do not qualify, even if their native amount is below ten or a converted estimate appears inexpensive. That deliberately leaves some inexpensive European offers out: exchange rates, card conversion fees and VAT are not a fixed USD checkout price. See the Hetzner–DigitalOcean comparison for native-currency alternatives.

A strict USD shortlist below $10

7 examples from 7 providers. These are selected offers, not an exhaustive market survey or a performance ranking. Use View vendor pricing to open the provider’s readable pricing page and choose your region and configuration. Plan names link to product pages. Technical evidence is available separately under Data sources and collection notes.

Monthly price · billed in USDSelected on-demand offers · native currency, not converted
Vultr vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6Vultr vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: $2.50 · 1 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · Atlanta (atl)$2.50AWS t4g.nanoAWS t4g.nano: ≈$3.07 · 2 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · US East (N. Virginia)≈$3.07Microsoft Azure Standard_B1lsMicrosoft Azure Standard_B1ls: ≈$3.80 · Unknown vCPU · Unknown GiB · US East≈$3.80DigitalOcean Basic (s-1vcpu-512mb-10gb)DigitalOcean Basic (s-1vcpu-512mb-10gb): $4.00 · 1 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · Amsterdam 3$4.00Akamai Connected Cloud Nanode 1GBAkamai Connected Cloud Nanode 1GB: $5.00 · 1 vCPU · 1 GiB · Tokyo 2, JP$5.00Google Cloud e2-microGoogle Cloud e2-micro: ≈$6.11 · 2 vCPU · 1 GiB · us-central1≈$6.11Oracle Cloud Infrastructure VM.Standard.A1.Flex (1 OCPU, 1 GB)Oracle Cloud Infrastructure VM.Standard.A1.Flex (1 OCPU, 1 GB): ≈$8.40 · 1 vCPU · 1 GiB · Oracle public price list; deployment region not specified≈$8.40
Monthly price · billed in USD
ItemValueDetail
Vultr vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6$2.501 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · Atlanta (atl)
AWS t4g.nano≈$3.072 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · US East (N. Virginia)
Microsoft Azure Standard_B1ls≈$3.80Unknown vCPU · Unknown GiB · US East
DigitalOcean Basic (s-1vcpu-512mb-10gb)$4.001 vCPU · 0.5 GiB · Amsterdam 3
Akamai Connected Cloud Nanode 1GB$5.001 vCPU · 1 GiB · Tokyo 2, JP
Google Cloud e2-micro≈$6.112 vCPU · 1 GiB · us-central1
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure VM.Standard.A1.Flex (1 OCPU, 1 GB)≈$8.401 vCPU · 1 GiB · Oracle public price list; deployment region not specified

≈ marks 730-hour on-demand estimates, not vendor caps. Tax treatment not specified.

Curated available on-demand VM offers, with native currency, billing basis and source dates.
Provider / plan / regionResourcesNative monthly base priceVendor pricing and details
Akamai Connected CloudNanode 1GBTokyo 2, JPFamily: nanode1 vCPU · 1 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedArchitecture not specifiedStorage not specified$5.00 / moUSD · Vendor monthly cap0.0075 USD/hourTax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • Includes 1000 GB monthly transfer.
  • Includes 25 GiB disk allocation; the API does not specify storage medium or locality.
  • Published outbound network limit: 1000 Mbit/s.
  • Official base type price in an API-supported region.
AWSt4g.nanoUS East (N. Virginia)Family: t4g2 vCPU · 0.5 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedarm64No included disk; storage is billed separately≈$3.07 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.0042 USD/hourTax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • AWS public pricing data identifies this as General purpose; it reports storage as "EBS only" and network as "Up to 5 Gigabit".
  • CPU architecture arm64: AWS EC2 instance-type documentation lists t4g with AWS Graviton (arm64) processors (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/gp.html), and the AWS us-east-1 price list version 20261007165408 names the physical processor "AWS Graviton2 Processor" (reviewed 2026-10-08).
  • Physical CPU cores: 2 (2 vCPUs at 1 thread per core), per the EC2 instance-type docs (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/gp.html, reviewed 2026-10-08).
  • Local storage: none; the EC2 instance-type docs list this size as "Instance store not supported" (EBS-only; EBS volumes are priced separately; reviewed 2026-10-08).
  • Network bandwidth: 0.032 Gbps baseline, bursting to 5 Gbps, per the EC2 instance-type docs (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/gp.html, reviewed 2026-10-08); this record uses the baseline.
  • The metered pricing feeds this collector reads do not publish GPU evidence, and the bulk price list was used only for the processor name; that field remains unknown.
  • Official On-Demand hourly rate code DU8E8NJG743V3F8M.JRTCKXETXF.6YS6EN2CT7 for shared-tenancy Linux; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
DigitalOceanBasic (s-1vcpu-512mb-10gb)Amsterdam 3Family: basic1 vCPU · 0.5 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedArchitecture not specified10 GiB local storage; medium unknown$4.00 / moUSD · Vendor monthly cap0.00595 USD/hourTax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • Includes 10 GiB local disk allocation; the API does not specify its medium.
  • Includes 500 GB monthly transfer.
  • Official size price in a region where both API resources report the size available.
Google Cloude2-microus-central1Family: e22 vCPU · 1 GiB RAMsharedx86-64Storage not specified≈$6.11 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.0083764275 USD/hour (derived or composed rate)Tax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence B
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • CPU architecture x86-64: Google's CPU platforms page lists E2 under "x86 processors" on Intel Skylake or Intel Broadwell or AMD EPYC Milan (https://cloud.google.com/compute/docs/cpu-platforms, reviewed 2026-10-08). The CPU platform can vary by zone and machine type; only the architecture is asserted.
  • Official Compute Engine machineTypes data establishes virtual CPU count and memory. It does not establish physical cores, allocation guarantees, GPU, local storage, or exact network throughput; those fields remain unknown.
  • Observed from https://www.googleapis.com/compute/v1/projects/cibot-506908/zones/us-central1-a/machineTypes/e2-micro.
  • Official on-demand price composed from 0.25 core-equivalent units and 1 GiB RAM using core SKU CF4E-A0C7-E3BF and RAM SKU F449-33EC-A5EF; sustained-use, commitment, Spot, and preemptible terms are excluded. Monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate. For this shared-core machine, 0.25 is the documented sustained CPU share, not the two exposed vCPUs or a separately published billing quantity; Google documents shared-core prices as predefined bundles at https://cloud.google.com/compute/docs/general-purpose-machines#e2_shared-core_machine_types.
Microsoft AzureStandard_B1lsUS EastFamily: azure-vmUnknown vCPU · Unknown GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedArchitecture not specifiedStorage not specified≈$3.80 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.0052 USD/hourTax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • The Azure Retail Prices API establishes the ARM SKU identifier and price meters but does not publish structured CPU, memory, architecture, GPU, storage, or network specifications; those fields remain unknown.
  • Windows, Dev/Test, and Low Priority meters are excluded. Linux is represented by the API retail meters that are not labeled Windows.
  • Official Linux consumption hourly retail meter; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
  • Azure meter 1da53aa5-3176-4fd8-9c35-61ea9c18437a; source SKU DZH318Z0BQ35/018Q; effective 2025-10-01T00:00:00Z.
Oracle Cloud InfrastructureVM.Standard.A1.Flex (1 OCPU, 1 GB)Oracle public price list; deployment region not specifiedFamily: a11 vCPU · 1 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedarm64Storage not specified≈$8.40 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.0115 USD/hour (derived or composed rate)Tax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • Curated flexible-shape configuration of 1 OCPU and 1 GB memory; the official compute-shapes documentation establishes 1 vCPU per OCPU and Arm architecture for VM.Standard.A1.Flex.
  • Processor model, allocation guarantees, sockets, GPU, local storage, and network throughput remain unknown because the collected sources do not establish them as structured facts for this configuration.
  • Official PAY_AS_YOU_GO component composition: 1 × OCPU part B93297 at $0.01/OCPU-hour plus 1 × memory part B93298 at $0.0015/GB-hour; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
  • Oracle free usage tiers are excluded; the positive post-allowance list-price tiers are used. The public price list is not region-qualified, and block storage, public IP, and outbound transfer charges are not included.
Vultrvc2-1c-0.5gb-v6Atlanta (atl)Family: vc21 vCPU · 0.5 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedx86-6410 GB local storage; ssd$2.50 / moUSD · Vendor monthly cap0.003 USD/hourTax treatment not specifiedView vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence A
Data sources and collection notes

Technical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page.

Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
  • Vultr plan type: vc2.
  • Published transfer allowance: 512 GB.
  • CPU architecture x86-64: the plans API lists cpu_vendor "Intel", and Vultr's OS catalog (https://api.vultr.com/v2/os, reviewed 2026-10-08) offers only x64 images.
  • Official base plan price for an API-listed location.

Read the cap before multiplying the hourly rate

For a VM kept all month, use a published monthly cap when the source establishes one. Multiplying its hourly rate by 730 may overstate that cap. Conversely, a 730-hour estimate is just a usage scenario, not a promise that the bill stops there. Short-lived instances may cost less, but check billing increments and when charging actually stops; shutting down an operating system is not evidence that all associated resources stop billing.

The provider notes below distinguish bundled plans from compute-only pricing. For component-composed offers, open the collected billing notes: a composed hourly estimate is not necessarily an authoritative price for an entire predefined VM bundle. Confidence grades and unknown hardware fields are visible rather than replaced by assumptions.

A practical small-server buying checklist

  1. Confirm the deployment region and connectivity. The example is one collected price scope, not a guarantee of worldwide availability. Do not infer IPv4 inclusion from a plan name; verify the address options and whether your clients can reach the server.
  2. Fit the workload in memory. Allow for the operating system, your service and peak usage. Check architecture compatibility and CPU allocation before relying on a low vCPU price. An unspecified allocation is not dedicated CPU evidence.
  3. Add the recurring extras. Disk, snapshots, backups, IPv4, monitoring, support and licenses need their own budget. Unknown tax treatment must be checked with your billing address, not treated as tax included.
  4. Bound the transfer exposure. Establish the included allowance, outbound destinations and overage rule. The bandwidth guide explains why a plan allowance alone cannot predict the final bill.

If the required RAM does not fit these entry-level examples, do not solve that by assuming a shared CPU or swap will deliver equivalent performance. Move to a larger, measured configuration; the 32 GiB guide provides a separate memory-focused comparison.

Provider billing and source notes

Akamai Connected Cloud

Official Linode API hourly prices and monthly caps; regional overrides applied when published.

1000 GB or more bundled monthly by plan

View vendor pricing at Akamai Connected Cloud ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

AWS

Official AWS public pricing-page feeds in USD. Linux shared tenancy is selected; On-Demand, current Spot, and No Upfront Reserved Instance terms are published as separate price records. Tax treatment is not established by these feeds.

EBS volumes, public IPv4 addresses, and outbound transfer are priced separately unless AWS states otherwise.

View vendor pricing at AWS ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

DigitalOcean

Official API hourly prices and monthly caps; availability confirmed by both sizes and regions resources.

Monthly outbound transfer allowance varies by size.

View vendor pricing at DigitalOcean ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

Google Cloud

Official Cloud Billing Catalog on-demand USD core and RAM rates are composed with official Compute Engine machine-type specifications. Sustained-use, commitment, Spot, and preemptible terms are not mixed into these rows. Tax treatment is not established by the APIs.

Persistent Disk, public IPv4, and outbound transfer are priced separately.

View vendor pricing at Google Cloud ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

Microsoft Azure

Official Azure Retail Prices API USD rates. Consumption and Spot are hourly; reservation totals are normalized over their prepaid term. Tax treatment is not established by the API response.

Managed disks, public IP addresses, and outbound transfer are priced separately.

View vendor pricing at Microsoft Azure ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure

Official public USD PAY_AS_YOU_GO component prices are composed for curated flexible VM configurations. Free usage allowances and commitment terms are excluded. The public API does not qualify prices by deployment region or establish tax treatment.

Block storage, public IP addresses, and outbound transfer can be priced separately; no inclusion is assumed by this collector.

View vendor pricing at Oracle Cloud Infrastructure ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

Vultr

Official API list prices; regional overrides are applied when published.

Provider-wide egress terms are not specified in the collected data.

View vendor pricing at Vultr ↗
Data source for these billing notes

This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.

Original collection source

Selection, freshness and limitations

We join the published normalized catalog to its price records by SKU, region, pricing model and commitment. Only active VMs marked available, with positive on-demand prices and no commitment, enter these examples. Known GPU offers, unavailable or unpriced plans, stale providers, stale rows and expired price evidence are excluded at build time. Availability describes the collected catalog, not live capacity or account eligibility at checkout.

Selection favors provider coverage rather than repeated regions. Within a provider and native currency, the lowest monthly amount supplies a representative; ties use stable SKU and region identifiers. The 32 GiB guide allows two distinct families per provider, the direct comparison one offer at each selected memory size, and the other guides one example per provider. All lists stop at twelve examples. Currency groups are not ranked against each other. If a provider has multiple native currencies, selection uses the first currency code alphabetically for each family or memory target; this is a deterministic scope choice, not a currency-value comparison.

A vendor monthly cap is not hourly price multiplied by 730. An estimate uses the catalog’s 730-hour basis and is not a price guarantee; the actual month, usage and component billing matter. Native EUR and GBP remain native; no exchange-rate estimate is used to qualify a dollar budget or declare a cross-currency winner. Tax, IPv4, disks, snapshots, backups, licenses, support and transfer can change the bill. Unknown fields are not free inclusions or performance guarantees.

Source dates and freshness deadlines appear beside each example. They describe published evidence, not a promise of continuous live checking. Read the comparison methodology and full Cloud VM catalog for broader coverage and freshness context.