The short buying answer

  • Already have a suitable computer and unmetered broadband? Reusing it with a good 4 TB NVMe drive can avoid a recurring server bill. Check CPU performance, cooling, the M.2 slot, drive endurance and power draw before spending money.
  • Want a remote node without maintaining hardware? Buy a complete dedicated-server configuration with adequate usable NVMe storage. The table below includes CPU, memory, storage, network and setup—not just a bare VM sticker price.
  • Need the lowest published base monthly amount in the September snapshot and can tolerate a rebuild? The reviewed OVHcloud three-drive configuration uses operator-configured RAID0. It trades redundancy for capacity; a disk failure means downtime and a resync. The four-drive alternative can use RAID10.
  • Need managed queries rather than self-verification? A hosted RPC endpoint may solve that different problem, but it is not operating your own full node. Archive history, public RPC traffic and validator duties are outside these budgets.

No universal cheapest claim: this is a small, dated comparison of four configurations across two vendors. It does not survey every auction, promotion, country, VPS or cloud. A capacity match is not a performance certification.

Ethereum node hardware requirements: minimum vs recommended

Ethereum.org lists a minimum starting point but points operators to EIP-7870 for buying guidance. EIP-7870 is a Living, Informational recommendation, created 26 January 2025; it is not a fixed protocol limit. These are the versions checked on 11 September 2026, and the recommendation covers the execution and consensus clients together.[1][2]

Personal mainnet full node, non-archive; not a validator sizing table
ResourceEthereum.org minimumRecommended buying target
CPU2+ cores4 physical cores / 8 threads; approximately 1000 single-thread / 3000 multi-thread PassMark. Shared vCPUs do not establish that performance.
RAM16 GB; 32 GB advised for stability32 GB for both clients; leave memory for the OS and avoid sizing from execution-client cache alone.
Storage2 TB NVMe, with Ethereum.org warning it may be exceeded by 20274 TB NVMe nominal capacity after the intended disk layout. Leave room for OS, logs, compaction and growth; this is not 4 TB of free space after sync.
Disk performanceCapacity alone is insufficientEIP-7870: approximately 500 MB/s sequential read/write; 50,000 random 4K read IOPS and 15,000 write IOPS. DRAM-less and QLC drives are discouraged.
Network25+ Mbit/s bandwidth50 Mbit/s download / 15 Mbit/s upload, preferably unmetered. A fast port is not an included monthly traffic allowance.

Sources for the requirements table: Ethereum.org node setup [1] and EIP-7870 [2]. Do not buy a new 2 TB machine merely because it appears in the minimum column.

Client choice and disk layout matter more than a “blockchain server” label

Choose a supported execution client and consensus client, then check their current sync mode, pruning and retention instructions. Database size and initial sync depend on the client and configuration; Ethereum.org also budgets additional space for consensus data. Its per-client database figures are not complete, interchangeable machine requirements. No particular client pair or future chain-growth rate is guaranteed by this guide.[1]

A 4 TB drive is a decimal manufacturer capacity, not 4 TiB. Filesystem and OS overhead reduce it. Two 2 TB drives mirrored provide 2 TB, not 4 TB. Likewise, two 3.84 TB drives mirrored provide only 3.84 TB and do not meet this guide's conservative 4 TB screen. Striping can combine capacity, but it sacrifices disk-failure protection. RAID is not a backup.

Full node, validator, archive and RPC are different purchases

Full node: execution plus consensus software verifies and follows mainnet without necessarily proposing blocks. Validator: adds signing and staking duties; EIP-7870 recommends 64 GB RAM and 8 cores / 16 threads, with higher CPU and upload targets. Archive: retains historical state for different query requirements and needs client-specific sizing. Hosted RPC: a service endpoint you use instead of running this machine. Owning a full node does not require a staking deposit, and this page makes no staking-return or archive-performance claim.[1][2]

Configured rental costs—not bare VM prices

All four options have published physical CPU counts, at least 32 GB RAM, a 1 Gbit/s public connection and sufficient nominal NVMe capacity with the specified operator-created layout. No machine was rented or benchmarked. Sustained I/O, exact SSD model/endurance and actual CPU performance remain acceptance checks after provisioning.

Lowest published monthly price in the reviewed USD subset: OVHcloud RISE-1 — capacity-first, no redundancy, USD 131.00/month plus USD 64.00 setup. Excludes taxes (World storefront USD). Account/subsidiary eligibility and checkout tax must be checked. This comparison covers 4 capacity-qualified USD configurations at the last build, not the whole market. The lower price buys no disk redundancy.

Both vendors publish the USD figures shown here: no foreign-exchange conversion is used. This compares published base amounts, not tax-inclusive bills. OVHcloud explicitly excludes taxes; Hetzner's public API does not specify tax treatment, so check billing country and final checkout totals. The separate home budgets remain in EUR and are not numerically ranked against these USD rentals.

Public configurations checked 11 September 2026; costs retain native currency; 12- and 36-month totals assume unchanged prices
Configuration / official pricingCPU / RAM / networkUsable storage with chosen layoutMonthly / upfront setup12 / 36 monthsScope and evidence
OVHcloud RISE-1 — capacity-first, no redundancyCanada, Beauharnois (World storefront; not US subsidiary)View vendor pricing ↗Capacity-qualified · benchmarks still requiredIntel Xeon-E 2386G, 3.5 / 4.7 GHz6 cores / 12 threads · 32 GB RAM1 Gbit/s unmetered public traffic; no paid 10 Gbit/s upgrade5.76 TB nominal usable3 × 1.92 TB NVMeRAID0 stripe · no redundancyBefore filesystem/OS overhead. Configure this layout yourself; not the vendor's guaranteed default.USD 131.00/moSetup USD 64.00First month USD 195.00USD 1,636.00USD 4,780.00 over 36 monthsHistorical scenario if review overdue

Excludes taxes (World storefront USD). Account/subsidiary eligibility and checkout tax must be checked.

Source evidence and configuration caveats

Observed 2026-09-11T12:42:00Z; review by 2026-10-11T12:00:00Z. Published monthly configuration; unchanged-rate estimates, no prepaid discount or paid OS.

  • Base USD 64/month plus USD 67/month selected NVMe storage; setup USD 64. No paid OS, control panel or backup storage selected.
  • Operator must configure RAID0 striping: 3 × 1.92 TB = 5.76 TB before filesystem/OS overhead. RAID5 yields only 3.84 TB and fails this capacity screen. Any drive failure requires rebuilding/resyncing.
  • Initial selected configuration showed availability; delivery timing and stock can change before checkout. This is a public configurator quote, not an order.
  • No measured Ethereum sync test, sustained IOPS, individual SSD model/endurance or PassMark single-thread guarantee was obtained.

Original technical pricing evidence [5]. Browser capture of the selected configuration and final summary, not the starting-price card. No order was submitted.

OVHcloud RISE-1 — redundant storageCanada, Beauharnois (World storefront; not US subsidiary)View vendor pricing ↗Capacity-qualified · benchmarks still requiredIntel Xeon-E 2386G, 3.5 / 4.7 GHz6 cores / 12 threads · 32 GB RAM1 Gbit/s unmetered public traffic; no paid 10 Gbit/s upgrade7.68 TB nominal usable4 × 3.84 TB NVMeRAID10 · mirrored pairsBefore filesystem/OS overhead. Configure this layout yourself; not the vendor's guaranteed default.USD 241.00/moSetup USD 64.00First month USD 305.00USD 2,956.00USD 8,740.00 over 36 monthsHistorical scenario if review overdue

Excludes taxes (World storefront USD). Account/subsidiary eligibility and checkout tax must be checked.

Source evidence and configuration caveats

Observed 2026-09-11T12:42:00Z; review by 2026-10-11T12:00:00Z. Published monthly configuration; unchanged-rate estimates, no prepaid discount or paid OS.

  • Base USD 64/month plus USD 177/month selected NVMe storage; setup USD 64. No paid OS, control panel or backup storage selected.
  • Operator must configure RAID10: 4 × 3.84 TB / 2 = 7.68 TB before filesystem/OS overhead. Soft RAID in the configurator is not a promise of the installed RAID level.
  • Initial selected configuration showed availability; delivery timing and stock can change before checkout. This is a public configurator quote, not an order.
  • No measured Ethereum sync test, sustained IOPS, individual SSD model/endurance or PassMark single-thread guarantee was obtained.

Original technical pricing evidence [5]. Browser capture of the selected configuration and final summary, not the starting-price card. No order was submitted.

Hetzner AX162-1 — striped dataGermany, Falkenstein (FSN1)View vendor pricing ↗Capacity-qualified · benchmarks still requiredAMD EPYC 9454P48 cores / 96 threads · 128 GB RAM1 Gbit/s unmetered public traffic; no paid 10 Gbit/s upgrade7.68 TB nominal usable2 × 3.84 TB NVMeRAID0 stripe · no redundancyBefore filesystem/OS overhead. Configure this layout yourself; not the vendor's guaranteed default.USD 724.00/moSetup USD 359.00First month USD 1,083.00USD 9,047.00USD 26,423.00 over 36 monthsHistorical scenario if review overdue

Vendor-published base USD amount, not an FX conversion. Tax treatment is not specified in the API response; not a tax-inclusive checkout total.

Source evidence and configuration caveats

Observed 2026-09-11T12:40:54Z; review by 2026-10-11T12:00:00Z. Published monthly configuration; unchanged-rate estimates, no prepaid discount or paid OS.

  • Published combined server + primary IPv4 monthly and setup prices from the configurator price API; no minimum contract term on product page. Confirm billing entity/VAT at checkout.
  • Operator RAID0: 2 × 3.84 TB = 7.68 TB before overhead; RAID1 would be only 3.84 TB and fails. No disk-failure protection.
  • Datacenter Edition NVMe is advertised, but individual SSD model, sustained IOPS, endurance and host benchmarks were not verified. No Ethereum sync performance guarantee.
  • The API marks FSN1 active; this is not a reserved server or guaranteed delivery. Consumer web prices may vary with location settings.

Original technical pricing evidence [4]. Public product identifier mapped from the official configurator DOM; combined price includes primary IPv4. Exact configuration and source snapshots are retained for editorial review.

Hetzner AX102-4 — mirrored data pairGermany, Falkenstein (FSN1)View vendor pricing ↗Capacity-qualified · benchmarks still requiredAMD Ryzen 9 7950X3D16 cores / 32 threads · 128 GB RAM1 Gbit/s unmetered public traffic; no paid 10 Gbit/s upgrade7.68 TB nominal usable2 × 7.68 TB NVMeRAID1 mirrored data pairBefore filesystem/OS overhead. Configure this layout yourself; not the vendor's guaranteed default.USD 894.00/moSetup USD 449.00First month USD 1,343.00USD 11,177.00USD 32,633.00 over 36 monthsHistorical scenario if review overdue

Vendor-published base USD amount, not an FX conversion. Tax treatment is not specified in the API response; not a tax-inclusive checkout total.

Source evidence and configuration caveats

Observed 2026-09-11T12:40:55Z; review by 2026-10-11T12:00:00Z. Published monthly configuration; unchanged-rate estimates, no prepaid discount or paid OS.

  • Published combined server + primary IPv4 monthly and setup prices from the configurator price API; no minimum contract term on product page. Confirm billing entity/VAT at checkout.
  • Use the 2 × 7.68 TB NVMe DC-Edition pair as a 7.68 TB mirror. The included 2 × 1.92 TB NVMe pair is separate OS/auxiliary capacity and is NOT added to the mirrored data capacity.
  • Datacenter Edition NVMe is advertised, but individual SSD model, sustained IOPS, endurance and host benchmarks were not verified. No Ethereum sync performance guarantee.
  • The API marks FSN1 active; this is not a reserved server or guaranteed delivery. Consumer web prices may vary with location settings.

Original technical pricing evidence [3]. Public product identifier mapped from the official configurator DOM; combined price includes primary IPv4. Exact configuration and source snapshots are retained for editorial review.

Important exclusions: paid operating systems, support upgrades, backups/object storage, replacement/resync labor and future price increases are not included. OVHcloud prices exclude taxes and come from its World USD storefront for Canada—not an offer from its US subsidiary. Check account eligibility. Hetzner figures include a primary IPv4 through the combined public price API, but are not a tax-inclusive checkout quote. Public configurator availability is not a reservation.[3][4][5]

Why pay for the four-drive OVHcloud option? RAID10 yields 7.68 TB before overhead with mirrored pairs. The three-drive option only qualifies when striped to 5.76 TB; RAID5 would yield 3.84 TB and fail the screen. If a cheap rental requires an unacceptable failure/recovery plan, it is not the cheapest suitable option for you. The AX102-4 instead has a 7.68 TB mirrored data pair plus a separate 1.92 TB pair for OS/auxiliary use; we never add that auxiliary pair to its usable data capacity.

Home hardware vs rental: upfront and three-year costs

Assumptions, not hardware quotes. The scenarios below are illustrative budgeting examples in EUR, not sourced component prices, guaranteed power measurements or a claim that a qualifying system is currently available at these prices. Obtain actual vendor quotes for a suitable CPU, 32 GB RAM and a good 4 TB NVMe SSD before relying on either budget.

Illustrative EUR ownership model: 730 hours/month, EUR 0.30/kWh, existing unmetered broadband, no resale credit
Assumed purchaseUpfrontPower / monthly electricity12-month total36-month total
Upgrade an already-owned computerAssume the existing host already has a suitable 4-core / 8-thread CPU and 32 GB RAM. Allocate EUR 300 for a 4 TB NVMe drive and EUR 100 for cooling/UPS/accessories. Existing computer purchase is a sunk cost, not free hardware.EUR 400.0035 W continuousEUR 7.67/moEUR 491.98EUR 675.94
Buy a new DIY nodeAssume EUR 800 for a suitable 4-core / 8-thread host with 32 GB RAM, EUR 300 for a 4 TB NVMe drive, and EUR 100 for cooling/UPS/accessories. These are budgeting inputs, not a researched shopping basket.EUR 1,200.0040 W continuousEUR 8.76/moEUR 1,305.12EUR 1,515.36

Formula: monthly electricity = watts ÷ 1,000 × 730 hours × local price/kWh. Ownership total = assumed upfront purchase + electricity × months. Rental total = listed monthly price × months + setup once. Calculations use unrounded electricity values; displayed amounts round to cents.

The home model assumes no incremental broadband bill and no failure during the period. It excludes sales tax, shipping, installation time, internet upgrades, UPS battery replacement, repair costs and your labor. If you need a separate connection, add its full incremental monthly cost. Measure power at the wall after sync: peak CPU power is not the same as average system consumption. There is no universal break-even date without matching tax, currency, connectivity and reliability requirements.

When buying locally, prioritize a known SSD model with sustained write performance and endurance rather than “NVMe” alone. Check that the host can cool the SSD without throttling and physically accommodate the drive. For plug-and-play systems, confirm that the advertised memory and storage belong to the selected configuration; a staking-oriented appliance is not a requirement for a personal full node.

Home, dedicated server, VPS or attached cloud storage?

Home hardware
You control the physical machine and pay upfront. Power cuts, ISP caps, router/NAT configuration and repairs become your responsibility. Choose it when your connection and willingness to maintain it are as strong as the hardware.
Dedicated rental
Published physical cores and local NVMe make capacity easier to audit. Setup fees, disk layouts, remote hands and the provider's terms still matter. Excess CPU/RAM on a big server does not compensate for insufficient usable data storage.
VPS
A 32 GB RAM badge does not qualify a plan. Storage may be small, shared or merely labeled SSD; a “core” may mean a scheduled vCPU rather than a physical core. Ask for the CPU allocation, sustained I/O policy and enough usable NVMe storage before comparing its monthly price. None of this site's general VM catalog is automatically certified for Ethereum.
Cloud VM plus block storage
Price compute, the complete data volume, provisioned IOPS/throughput if charged, IP addresses, snapshots and outbound transfer together. Network-attached SSD is not automatically equivalent to local NVMe. A volume's maximum IOPS may exceed the VM's attachment limit; verify both. This research did not establish a complete cloud configuration meeting the same capacity/performance scope, so none is presented as a qualifying bargain.

Explore the 32 GiB RAM server guide for compute candidates and bandwidth and egress costs for the network bill. These are discovery aids, not an Ethereum-ready shortlist. Hardware navigation and the VM catalog remain separate from this manually researched comparison.

Before you buy: six checks that prevent an expensive resync

  1. Lock the workload. Personal mainnet execution + consensus, non-archive, no heavy public RPC or validator duties. Re-size if that changes.
  2. Check the exact storage configuration. Select the right NVMe option and calculate usable capacity after RAID. Ask about SSD model, endurance, health/replacement and sustained I/O. Do not accept HDD capacity as a substitute.
  3. Plan a recoverable layout. Decide whether no-redundancy striping is acceptable. Back up configuration and secrets securely, and allow downtime for rebuilding. RAID does not protect against corruption or operator error.
  4. Verify the complete bill. Region, native currency, setup, tax, public IP, licenses, traffic limits and any commitment. Check peer-to-peer node hosting against current provider/ISP terms.
  5. Test the delivered machine. Confirm CPU resources and SSD health, then run safe file-based I/O tests on disposable test data using EIP-7870's guidance. Never run a destructive raw-device benchmark on your node database. Validate sustained performance and monitor an actual sync before treating the server as suitable.[2]
  6. Operate it deliberately. Follow current client documentation for pruning, upgrades and network ports. Keep RPC and the execution/consensus Engine API private or properly authenticated; do not expose an unrestricted administrative endpoint. Monitor disk growth, sync lag, temperatures and logs.[1]

Sources and maintenance

  1. Ethereum.org node setup — checked 2026-09-11.
    Technical provenance

    Original retrieved source. Snapshot SHA-256: 2febec97c5c89693b1484ca6741f4cc8032314af63a474f2b52dba501dfae3bf. The two OVHcloud selections share the same official configurator; each selected summary is retained separately.

  2. EIP-7870 (Living, Informational) — checked 2026-09-11.
    Technical provenance

    Original retrieved source. Snapshot SHA-256: 6ffecea8eb5055c364f8cda844c328e039b531ac9c95935ee2c0404da808f386. The two OVHcloud selections share the same official configurator; each selected summary is retained separately.

  3. Hetzner AX102 configurator — checked 2026-09-11.
    Technical provenance

    Original retrieved source. Snapshot SHA-256: dc7800f8641308e685acfbf90de66dd53ceefa1fa10a9f528ce81d35ddfe004c. The two OVHcloud selections share the same official configurator; each selected summary is retained separately.

  4. Hetzner AX162 configurator — checked 2026-09-11.
    Technical provenance

    Original retrieved source. Snapshot SHA-256: 7b6029a70dcd0cbf982c1332d2846cbe45b25b457474ec502c7997f73d3f1ea1. The two OVHcloud selections share the same official configurator; each selected summary is retained separately.

  5. OVHcloud RISE-1, 3-drive configuration — checked 2026-09-11.
    Technical provenance

    Original retrieved source. Snapshot SHA-256: 570df17573e0afc1601b2a167a1923e574ab2f075e9fa12cf9953c456ab2f001. The two OVHcloud selections share the same official configurator; each selected summary is retained separately.

This is a manually reviewed snapshot, separate from the automatic general VM collectors. Prices and requirements are not re-dated by a rebuild. At build time, missing CPU/RAM/network/storage/pricing information or an expired review date removes an offer from price ranking; historical rows remain labeled. A deployed static page does not change itself on the review deadline: the visible dates remain the reader's warning until the next reviewed publication.

We preserve selected configurations and original public source evidence, not just headline prices. No paid server, disk benchmark, client sync or checkout order was performed. Report a changed price, configuration or requirement through the about/contact page; see the comparison methodology for how we treat unknowns.