One memory target, several very different machines
Searching for a “32 GB RAM server” is a useful starting point for a database, cache, build worker or application that has outgrown a small VM. It is not a complete specification. The same memory capacity can be paired with different vCPU counts, CPU allocation, storage and processor architectures. Those differences can matter more than a small change in the monthly sticker price.
Here the criterion is precise: the normalized catalog must report exactly 32 GiB of RAM. This is not an “at least 32” filter, and a marketing name containing “32” is not evidence of memory capacity. Unknown memory, larger sizes and GPU and accelerator instances are excluded. GiB is a binary unit; GB is a decimal unit, so confirm the vendor’s specification rather than assuming the labels are interchangeable.
The selection keeps up to two distinct families per provider, taking a low-monthly-price representative within each native-currency group and showing its actual region. It is intentionally small. A provider absent from the table may simply lack a collected, fresh, exact-size CPU VM record; absence is not a claim that the vendor sells no 32 GiB servers.
Exactly 32 GiB: selected provider and family choices
5 examples from 3 providers. These are selected offers, not an exhaustive market survey or a performance ranking. Use View vendor pricing to open the provider’s readable pricing page and choose your region and configuration. Plan names link to product pages. Technical evidence is available separately under Data sources and collection notes.
| Item | Value | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Oracle Cloud Infrastructure VM.Standard.E5.Flex (4 OCPU, 32 GB) | ≈$134.32 | 8 vCPU · 32 GiB · Oracle public price list; deployment region not specified |
| AWS x8g.large | ≈$142.64 | 2 vCPU · 32 GiB · US East (N. Virginia) |
| AWS r7g.xlarge | ≈$156.37 | 4 vCPU · 32 GiB · US East (N. Virginia) |
≈ marks 730-hour on-demand estimates, not vendor caps. Tax treatment not specified.
| Item | Value | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| UpCloud CLOUDNATIVE-8xCPU-32GB | €130.00 | 8 vCPU · 32 GiB · Sydney #1 (au-syd1) |
| UpCloud HIMEM-4xCPU-32GB | €144.00 | 4 vCPU · 32 GiB · Sydney #1 (au-syd1) |
Tax treatment not specified.
| Provider / plan / region | Resources | Native monthly base price | Vendor pricing and details |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWSx8g.largeUS East (N. Virginia)Family: x8g | 2 vCPU · 32 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedarm64No included disk; storage is billed separately | ≈$142.64 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.1954 USD/hourTax treatment not specified | View vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence AData sources and collection notesTechnical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page. Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
|
| Oracle Cloud InfrastructureVM.Standard.E5.Flex (4 OCPU, 32 GB)Oracle public price list; deployment region not specifiedFamily: e5 | 8 vCPU · 32 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedx86-64Storage not specified | ≈$134.32 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.184 USD/hour (derived or composed rate)Tax treatment not specified | View vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence AData sources and collection notesTechnical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page. Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
|
| UpCloudCLOUDNATIVE-8xCPU-32GBSydney #1 (au-syd1)Family: cloud-native | 8 vCPU · 32 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedArchitecture not specifiedStorage not specified | €130.00 / moEUR · Vendor monthly cap0.19345199999999999 EUR/hourTax treatment not specifiedNative currency only; no USD conversion used in this guide. | View vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence BData sources and collection notesTechnical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page. Original pricing document
|
| AWSr7g.xlargeUS East (N. Virginia)Family: r7g | 4 vCPU · 32 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedarm64No included disk; storage is billed separately | ≈$156.37 / moUSD · 730-hour estimate, not a cap0.2142 USD/hourTax treatment not specified | View vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence AData sources and collection notesTechnical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page. Raw pricing data (API/JSON; may require authentication)
|
| UpCloudHIMEM-4xCPU-32GBSydney #1 (au-syd1)Family: high-memory | 4 vCPU · 32 GiB RAMCPU allocation not specifiedArchitecture not specifiedStorage not specified | €144.00 / moEUR · Vendor monthly cap0.214285 EUR/hourTax treatment not specifiedNative currency only; no USD conversion used in this guide. | View vendor pricing Choose your region and configuration on the vendor’s site.Source as of Freshness deadline: · confidence BData sources and collection notesTechnical evidence used to build this comparison—not a shopping page. Original pricing document
|
Choose a CPU-to-memory shape, not a winner by RAM alone
For a memory-heavy service, first measure the working set and headroom needed during deployment, recovery and traffic peaks. Then compare how many vCPUs accompany that memory. Paying for extra cores may make sense for parallel work, but it is not automatically useful for a service bottlenecked on storage or a single busy thread.
Family names are navigation aids, not benchmark results. Where the collector cannot establish allocation, architecture or storage medium, the table says so. A source that prices a VM can still omit enough hardware information to make a performance comparison unsafe. Do not turn equal RAM and vCPU counts into a claim of equal throughput or latency.
Storage and billing can change the practical choice
Separate the memory decision from the storage decision. Check whether the recorded capacity is local or network-attached, whether a boot disk is included, and what persistence and backup arrangements your workload requires. “Storage not specified” does not mean there is no disk cost. Provider billing notes below identify exclusions established by the collected sources.
Read the native currency and monthly basis together. A vendor cap and an hourly-derived monthly estimate are not the same contract, and a EUR quote with unknown tax treatment cannot be ranked directly against a USD quote. This guide keeps native prices visible rather than implying a precise cross-currency savings percentage.
Before moving a database or production service
- Measure peak resident memory, cache behavior and recovery requirements; leave deliberate headroom rather than filling the advertised capacity.
- Test representative queries or build jobs on the actual family and architecture. Verify latency from your users and dependencies in the selected region.
- Price durable storage, snapshots, backups and network traffic separately where required. Check restore time and failure recovery, not just disk capacity.
- Revisit the target if the workload is much smaller: the under-$10 shortlist answers a different budget question, while the full VM catalog supports broader memory and region filters.
Provider billing and source notes
AWS
Official AWS public pricing-page feeds in USD. Linux shared tenancy is selected; On-Demand, current Spot, and No Upfront Reserved Instance terms are published as separate price records. Tax treatment is not established by these feeds.
EBS volumes, public IPv4 addresses, and outbound transfer are priced separately unless AWS states otherwise.
AWS VM pricing on compute.info: every collected AWS instance type with its lowest price per billing term.
View vendor pricing at AWS ↗Data source for these billing notes
This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.
Original collection sourceOracle Cloud Infrastructure
Official public USD PAY_AS_YOU_GO component prices are composed for curated flexible VM configurations. Free usage allowances and commitment terms are excluded. The public API does not qualify prices by deployment region or establish tax treatment.
Block storage, public IP addresses, and outbound transfer can be priced separately; no inclusion is assumed by this collector.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure VM pricing on compute.info: every collected Oracle Cloud Infrastructure instance type with its lowest price per billing term.
View vendor pricing at Oracle Cloud Infrastructure ↗Data source for these billing notes
This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.
Original collection sourceUpCloud
Official calculator native EUR hourly list rates and provider 28-day (672-hour) monthly caps. Tax basis is not stated in the calculator payload, so normalized USD comparison is intentionally unavailable.
Structured plan records report publicTrafficOut amounts, but the calculator payload does not establish overage semantics.
UpCloud VM pricing on compute.info: every collected UpCloud instance type with its lowest price per billing term.
View vendor pricing at UpCloud ↗Data source for these billing notes
This is the original collection source for auditing our data. It may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; it is not a buying page.
Original collection sourceSelection, freshness and limitations
We join the published normalized catalog to its price records by SKU, region, pricing model and commitment. Only active VMs marked available, with positive on-demand prices and no commitment, enter these examples. Known GPU offers, unavailable or unpriced plans, stale providers and stale rows are excluded at build time. Expired price evidence is excluded too, unless no offer has fresh evidence: then the guide shows the last-known offers under the same rules, says so at the top, and labels every row with the date its evidence expired. Fresh and expired offers are never mixed. Availability describes the collected catalog, not live capacity or account eligibility at checkout.
Selection favors provider coverage rather than repeated regions. Within a provider and native currency, the lowest monthly amount supplies a representative; ties use stable SKU and region identifiers. The 32 GiB guide allows two distinct families per provider, the direct comparison one offer at each selected memory size, and the other guides one example per provider. All lists stop at twelve examples. Currency groups are not ranked against each other. If a provider has multiple native currencies, selection uses the first currency code alphabetically for each family or memory target; this is a deterministic scope choice, not a currency-value comparison.
A vendor monthly cap is not hourly price multiplied by 730. An estimate uses the catalog’s 730-hour basis and is not a price guarantee; the actual month, usage and component billing matter. Native EUR and GBP remain native; no exchange-rate estimate is used to qualify a dollar budget or declare a cross-currency winner. Tax, IPv4, disks, snapshots, backups, licenses, support and transfer can change the bill. Unknown fields are not free inclusions or performance guarantees.
Source dates and freshness deadlines appear beside each example. They describe published evidence, not a promise of continuous live checking. Read the comparison methodology and full Cloud VM catalog for broader coverage and freshness context.