AWS · trn1
AWS trn1.2xlarge pricing and specs
8 published prices for trn1.2xlarge in 2 regions across 4 billing terms, from AWS's official pricing source. Prices stay in native currency and can exclude storage, IPv4, egress, support and tax.
Price sources dated . Every price is within its freshness deadline. A site rebuild is not a new source check.
trn1.2xlarge specifications
| Family | trn1 |
|---|---|
| Machine type | Virtual machine |
| vCPU | 8 |
| Physical cores | 4 |
| Memory | 32 GiB |
| Architecture | x86-64 |
| CPU allocation | Unknown |
| GPU | GPU/accelerator · details unknown |
| Local storage | 474 GB local storage; nvme |
| Network | Unknown |
| Provider status | Active |
Lowest and highest price by billing term
Each row compares one billing term in one currency across the regions that list it. Billing terms and currencies are never mixed or converted, and a stale price is compared only when no fresh one exists.
| Billing term | Lowest | Highest | Compared |
|---|---|---|---|
| On-demand | USD 1.34375 / hrUS East (N. Virginia) and 1 other at this price | Same as lowestSame price in all 2 regions compared | 2 regions |
| Spot (interruptible) | USD 0.191 / hrUS West (Oregon) | USD 0.2226 / hrUS East (N. Virginia) | 2 regions |
| 12-month commitment | USD 0.82681 / hrUS East (N. Virginia) and 1 other at this price | Same as lowestSame price in all 2 regions compared | 2 regions |
| 36-month commitment | USD 0.51229 / hrUS East (N. Virginia) and 1 other at this price | Same as lowestSame price in all 2 regions compared | 2 regions |
Every published trn1.2xlarge price
One table per billing term, cheapest first (on-demand open, other terms folded). Monthly figures follow the provider's billing: a vendor monthly cap is not the hourly price multiplied by 730.
On-demand
2 prices
| Region | Hourly | Monthly | Tax and source date |
|---|---|---|---|
| US East (N. Virginia) | USD 1.34375 / hr | ≈$980.94 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
| US West (Oregon) | USD 1.34375 / hr | ≈$980.94 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
Source notes for these prices
- US East (N. Virginia): Official On-Demand hourly rate code TJ8P7224TZCV4ZUG.JRTCKXETXF.6YS6EN2CT7 for shared-tenancy Linux; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
- US West (Oregon): Official On-Demand hourly rate code 3MTGFRF82YV9Q2YK.JRTCKXETXF.6YS6EN2CT7 for shared-tenancy Linux; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
Spot (interruptible)
2 prices
| Region | Hourly | Monthly | Tax and source date |
|---|---|---|---|
| US West (Oregon) | USD 0.191 / hr | ≈$139.43 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
| US East (N. Virginia) | USD 0.2226 / hr | ≈$162.50 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
Source notes for these prices
Every row: Official current Linux Spot hourly price; monthly amount is a 730-hour comparison estimate and Spot rates can change independently.
12-month commitment
2 prices
| Region | Hourly | Monthly | Tax and source date |
|---|---|---|---|
| US East (N. Virginia) | USD 0.82681 / hr | ≈$603.57 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
| US West (Oregon) | USD 0.82681 / hr | ≈$603.57 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
Source notes for these prices
- US East (N. Virginia): Official 12-month No Upfront shared-tenancy Linux Reserved Instance hourly rate code TJ8P7224TZCV4ZUG.4NA7Y494T4.6YS6EN2CT7; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
- US West (Oregon): Official 12-month No Upfront shared-tenancy Linux Reserved Instance hourly rate code 3MTGFRF82YV9Q2YK.4NA7Y494T4.6YS6EN2CT7; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
36-month commitment
2 prices
| Region | Hourly | Monthly | Tax and source date |
|---|---|---|---|
| US East (N. Virginia) | USD 0.51229 / hr | ≈$373.97 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
| US West (Oregon) | USD 0.51229 / hr | ≈$373.97 / mo730-hour estimate, not a cap | Tax treatment not specifiedSource |
Source notes for these prices
- US East (N. Virginia): Official 36-month No Upfront shared-tenancy Linux Reserved Instance hourly rate code TJ8P7224TZCV4ZUG.BPH4J8HBKS.6YS6EN2CT7; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
- US West (Oregon): Official 36-month No Upfront shared-tenancy Linux Reserved Instance hourly rate code 3MTGFRF82YV9Q2YK.BPH4J8HBKS.6YS6EN2CT7; monthly amount is a 730-hour estimate.
Prices are published in US dollars; no currency conversion is involved.
Similar AWS instance types
Up to 6 other AWS instance types whose vCPU count and memory are both within a factor of two of this one, closest first, GPU or accelerator types only. Equal vCPU and RAM do not mean equal performance.
| Instance type | vCPU | Memory | CPU | Lowest on-demand |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| g6.xlarge | 4 | 16 GiB | Unknown · x86-64 | USD 0.8048 / hr |
| inf2.xlarge | 4 | 16 GiB | Unknown · x86-64 | USD 0.7582 / hr |
| g6e.xlarge | 4 | 32 GiB | Unknown · x86-64 | USD 1.861 / hr |
| trn1.2xlarge | 8 | 32 GiB | Unknown · x86-64 | USD 1.34375 / hr |
| vt1.3xlarge | 12 | 24 GiB | Unknown · x86-64 | USD 0.65 / hr |
Sources and evidence
Official AWS public pricing-page feeds in USD for 6 reviewed regions. Linux shared tenancy is selected; On-Demand, current Spot, and No Upfront Reserved Instance terms are published as separate price records. Tax treatment is not established by these feeds.
View vendor pricing at AWS ↗ · AWS product page ↗
Data sources for these prices
The original collection sources, for auditing our data. They may contain raw API/JSON data or require authentication; they are not buying pages.
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-ondemand-without-sec-sel/US%20East%20(N.%20Virginia)/Linux/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-ondemand-without-sec-sel/US%20West%20(Oregon)/Linux/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-reservedinstance/1%20year/No%20Upfront/US%20East%20(N.%20Virginia)/Linux/Shared/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-reservedinstance/1%20year/No%20Upfront/US%20West%20(Oregon)/Linux/Shared/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-reservedinstance/3%20year/No%20Upfront/US%20East%20(N.%20Virginia)/Linux/Shared/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://b0.p.awsstatic.com/pricing/2.0/meteredUnitMaps/ec2/USD/current/ec2-reservedinstance/3%20year/No%20Upfront/US%20West%20(Oregon)/Linux/Shared/index.json · 1 price · retrieved
- https://website.spot.ec2.aws.a2z.com/spot.json · 2 prices · retrieved
Specification notes
- AWS public pricing data identifies this as Machine Learning ASIC Instances; it reports storage as "1 x 475 NVMe SSD" and network as "12500 Megabit".
- CPU architecture x86-64: AWS EC2 instance-type documentation lists trn1 with Intel (x86_64) processors (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/ac.html), and the AWS us-east-1 price list version 20261007165408 names the physical processor "Intel Xeon Scalable (Icelake)" (reviewed 2026-10-08).
- Physical CPU cores: 4 (8 vCPUs at 2 threads per core), per the EC2 instance-type docs (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/ac.html, reviewed 2026-10-08).
- Local storage: 1 x 474 GB NVMe SSD instance store (capacity as AWS states it, in GB), per the EC2 instance-type docs (https://docs.aws.amazon.com/ec2/latest/instancetypes/ac.html, reviewed 2026-10-08); the pricing feed lists "1 x 475 NVMe SSD", and this record uses the docs value. Instance store data does not persist when the instance stops.
- Network bandwidth left unknown: the pricing feed lists "12500 Megabit" while the EC2 instance-type docs give 3.125 Gbps baseline, bursting to 12.5 Gbps (reviewed 2026-10-08).
- The metered pricing feeds this collector reads do not publish GPU evidence, and the bulk price list was used only for the processor name; that field remains unknown.
Read the methodology before purchasing. All AWS instance types and prices · Search the complete VM catalog